The Digital Roundtable

Community Forum => PC Gaming => Topic started by: Ted on January 23, 2007, 10:18:14 PM



Title: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on January 23, 2007, 10:18:14 PM
I'll post mine tonight


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Jason on January 24, 2007, 02:44:37 AM
I'm embarrassed to admit that I'm still using a PIII (yes, that's a three) with 512MB RAM, a nVidia TNT2 video card with 32MB RAM and an 80GB hard drive. I do keep it lean and mean so that it runs better than most people's newer and faster computers.


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on January 24, 2007, 03:17:40 AM
I'm embarrassed to admit that I'm still using a PIII (yes, that's a three) with 512MB RAM, a nVidia TNT2 video card with 32MB RAM and an 80GB hard drive. I do keep it lean and mean so that it runs better than most people's newer and faster computers.

I wouldn't be embarassed.  The machine I had before my current one was a PIII 600 mhz with 384MB RAM and one of the original GeForce 3 cards.  There was still gaming goodness to be found with older titles.  Kind of like current gen vs next gen consoles  ;)


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on January 25, 2007, 08:54:09 AM
Mine are in my sig now


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Jason on January 25, 2007, 03:33:08 PM
Mine are in my sig now

Impressive.


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on January 25, 2007, 08:41:07 PM
Maybe only against your PIII.  That hardware is all over 1 year old now.  I think 6 months is considered old in respect to PC hardware. 


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: petes-24 on January 28, 2007, 07:40:04 AM
I just upgraded our 4.5 year old Dell Dimension 4600.  An extra 1 Gb RAM (total 1.5 now) and a new nvidia 7600GS video card. All seems to work okay on the default 250W PSU (which I read can handle up to 345W, so that was good.)  Company of Heroes was my tipping point (i.e., -that- game that forces your hand.


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on January 28, 2007, 09:04:08 AM
I just upgraded our 4.5 year old Dell Dimension 4600.  An extra 1 Gb RAM (total 1.5 now) and a new nvidia 7600GS video card. All seems to work okay on the default 250W PSU (which I read can handle up to 345W, so that was good.)  Company of Heroes was my tipping point (i.e., -that- game that forces your hand.

CoH sure can force an upgrade.  At full graphics settings I get stutter with my rig.  But man is that a good game!


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Jake on February 04, 2007, 02:52:06 AM
Basically same as my dads, only different case  ;)


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Jason on February 04, 2007, 06:07:31 PM
Basically same as my dads, only different case  ;)

Welcome to the forum Jake.


Title: Re: What are your sytem specs?
Post by: Ted on February 04, 2007, 07:55:48 PM
Basically same as my dads, only different case  ;)

Jake's PC actually is running a dual core AMD 3800 2.0Ghz CPU.  Slightly slower than my single core, but I'll be very interested to see how FSX handles it since it is supposed to be dual core optimized.

He also has a faster 7900 GT video card.  It has slightly faster clock frequencies and 24 pixel pipelines to my 24.  Even though I run two in SLI, Jakes single still does a better job than my dual.